Tags

, , , , ,

I would argue, however, that Christ’s commands for us are more difficult than God’s commands for the Israelites in the desert.  Not because we are able to follow the Ten Commandments better, but because God decided to show us a better way to conduct ourselves and improve upon how we view the Ten Commandments.

But I tell you that anyone who is angrywith a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca’, is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell. (Matt 5:22)
But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. (Matt 5:28)

If we are called to be perfect examples of Christ’s love to our brothers and sisters, we have a long way to go.  It won’t be easy, but it will be worth it.

I know I struggle with my thoughts and words on a daily basis.  I can only pray that God won’t hold that against me…but that doesn’t mean I won’t try to better myself in the next moment.  When I falter, I just try to do better in the next moment of temptation and when I have a moment of weakness, I pray that God will give me strength.  For I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. (Phil 4:13)

I should not want to show myself to others, but show Christ to them.  When people see me, they should see Christ and His love for them (having long hair and growing a beard helps, but isn’t necessary).

