Tags

, ,

It’s the age old question.  Ever since the fall from grace, we have pondered what to wear in the presence of God.  But, we are far removed from Adam and Eve’s fig leaves.

The debate is less about denomination and more about your age, how you were raised, and your own thoughts.  But, the question still remains.  What should I wear to church on Sunday (or Saturday)?

The answer can be as easy as reading, But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” (1 Sam 16:7)  Or as difficult.

If we worry about how people view us, then we would try to conform to what everyone wears or what is expected.  If we want to prove that we don’t care how people view us, we may wear whatever we want.  But it can get even more complex than that.  Am I lazy?  Do I have somewhere to go right after church and won’t have time to change?  Is it really hot out?  Really cold?  Is inside church really hot or cold?

But, beyond that, I think we need to really take a moment to pause and discern why we are wearing what we are wearing to church.  Do we want to prove that God looks at the heart and doesn’t care about appearance?  Do we want to glorify/venerate God with our appearance?  Do we want to conform with the norms of the church?

Only by answering that question for myself will I know why I wear what I wear and then can determine my if my attitude is Christ-centered or me centered.

