Tags

, , , , ,

The golden rule, “Treat others as you want to be treated” is a hard one to follow.  But, every time we pray the “Our Father”, we use it.  It is the measure that will be used on us.  “Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.”  It is also written, “Do not judge, or you too will be judged.  For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” (Matt 7: 1-2)

I don’t know about you, but to me, that’s a scary concept.  I can be overly critical of people sometimes.  I’m not always the best at forgiving and forgetting.  And I know I can hold a grudge.

So where does that leave me?  Probably not in a good spot.

Life is about loving others, not putting them down to build yourself up.  I need to remember that.  If we are supposed to be a city on a hill and not a light under a basket, how do we go about doing that?  We should reflect Jesus and His love in our words, actions, and daily lives…but knowing that, doesn’t make it any easier.

I know I’ll still get frustrated with people.  I know there are still lifestyles and choices I’ll disagree with; but that doesn’t mean I’ll hate that person or love them any less, it just means that I need to remind myself that I am not perfect either.  I just need to take a step back, breathe, and try to show God to everyone I meet.

If I live God’s love daily, there will be no room for hate.

