Tags

, , , , ,

Is it ever too late to change?  Are we stuck where we are, unable to move ourselves?  A dreary thought, if it’s true.  I’d rather not think of myself as stuck.  Yet, that seems to be exactly how I live.  I have a routine: go to work, come home. Simple.  But, at the same time, unfulfilling.

I know there is more to life.  It’s not that I don’t spend time in prayer, reading the Bible, or going to church.  There’s just some feeling that tries to weigh me down.  A feeling of doubt, that this is all I will ever be: just a sales clerk.

Now, there’s nothing inherently wrong with just being a sales clerk.  But, it’s not all that I am.  It is not the only thing that defines me.  I am not a one dimensional character in my own story, yet sometimes, it seems that way.

Do you not often look back on a chapter of your life and say, “If only…” or wish you could do it all over again?  Are there not regrets?  But, there are also joys.

Without regret and pain, would we know what true joy and happiness was?  Would we know what grace meant?

It is only too late once you’ve given up trying.  I know I keep trying not to stumble, but I still do.  However, I pick myself back up and keep going.  Even on the darkest days, when I’m running in the rain or crying because of pain, I know I can keep going because of grace.  Because of love.

So what defines me?  Is it my own self-doubt?  My self-pity?  My job?  My hobbies?  My car?  How much money I make?  Or is it something more?  Something I can’t help but show?

If only, I lived every day unafraid.  Then, I might truly live the Word: “It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me” (Galatians 2:20).

