Tags

, , , , , , ,

Is there a more frustrating passage than Matthew 7:7-11?  Certainly there are others that give us pause or make us think and reflect.  But these verses give us something to consider deeply.

7“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

9“Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

What do we ask for?  When do we get it?

Do we act like rabble-rousers?  “What do we want?” Help/Answers/Etc. “When do we want it?” Now!

Do we wait patiently for God’s time to act?

Do we trust Him with our deepest desires?  With all our problems?  Or do we only give Him the ones we believe He has time for or is willing to listen to?

When we run to our families/friends and expel our desires, rants, griefs, problems, ad nauseum, do we leave anything out?  Why then do we hide things from God?

Are we afraid of the answers He will give?  Are we afraid of the way He will answer?  Are we afraid of where His answers will lead?

Perhaps it is most troubling that when we ask God for something, it doesn’t come to us in the time or manner that we hoped.  I think that the problem isn’t with God or His answers, but with me and the way I view my questions.

If I ask for my burden to be lifted and it isn’t lifted immediately.  I frown and wonder why God has forsaken me.  Instead of thinking, What can I learn from this burden?  Perhaps I need to look at this burden from a different viewpoint, then it won’t seem like a burden or perhaps, the answer is staring me in the face and I’m just not open to see it.  Maybe I was looking for God to answer me in a way I was expecting and didn’t realize that God had answered my prayers, just not in a way I was looking to see.

In my live, perhaps I need to be more open to the way God is moving and continues to move.

