Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think we often wonder what happens after we die.  Or at least I do.  Not that the Bible doesn’t spell it out plainly enough.  I just sometimes find myself questioning not just where I’m going, but the different beliefs others have.  Why is mine right and not someone else’s?

Lately, I’ve been thinking about atheists.  Most, from what I understand, believe that this life is all we have.  After we die we’re gone.  “We are dust and to dust we shall return”.  But, to me, that’s a depressing way to look at the afterlife.  I would rather there be something rather than nothing.  It seems odd, to me, that life just ends; but that is the meaning of death.  Maybe our essence floats through the cosmos or if a tree is planted above us we live out life as a tree.

I’m not saying the atheists are wrong, they’re free to believe whatever they want; just like we all are.  I’m just saying, it doesn’t work for me.  The idea that I’m stuck with one life is too depressing to consider.

However, it does have an important aspect.  It makes you really focus upon this life.  If we’re only given one life, we’d better make the best of it.  If we cease to exist once we die, why waste a moment of living?  We should live life to the fullest, live in the moment, and enjoy the things we have.  One life, lived one day at a time, concerned not with “what can I get?” but rather “what can I give?” is a far better use of our time.

So, perhaps, in a way, the atheists have it right.

But, don’t most religions focus on better ourselves and humanity?  Whether we believe in an afterlife or not, incarnation and rebirth or not, shouldn’t we strive to be the best person, the best human being, we can be?

I know I don’t do a good job of this.  Yet, with each new moment I see, I can change myself and my perceptions for the good.  It only takes a moment to change a life.

