Tags

, , , , , , ,

When you think of the phrase “every man’s fantasy” it conjures a certain image.  

I had a friend recently tell me that he had a text that read: “Every man’s dream”.  He immediately knew what it meant…based on the context of the rest of the conversation and his relationship with the woman texting him.  Still, it’s an odd turn of phrase.

When he told me, I’ll admit part of me was jealous, part of me thought: “those actually happen?”, but most of me said: “that’s  not my fantasy”.

Of course, I’d be lying if I said I never thought about a three-way; however, my initial reaction was more, “I’d rather give myself unconditionally to my wife for the first time”.

Now, after a few days of reflection, I find myself wondering when did our fantasies become so worldly?

Why isn’t my fantasy to see myself in Heaven?  Why does my mind linger here, in the gutter, rather than above?

Clearly, the answer is as obvious as it is complicated.  It’s not just the company I keep or the things I do, read, and watch.  It’s also my baser nature.  What some might call my sin nature.  What Paul preaches about when he says: “The things I don’t want to do, I do.” (Romans 7: 15).  

If we are new in Christ, we should commit to living above ourselves, above our baser natures.

But saying that and doing it are two very different things.  That’s why we need a Savior, why we need Jesus.  We need help.  We can’t do it alone.  If we could, He wouldn’t be called, “Savior”.

