Tags

,

We all want acceptance.  Society tells us–well, should tell us–we’re all equal; but that doesn’t mean we believe it.  Not that we discriminate against others, but against ourselves.

We are all equal.  All of us are imperfect.  We all have imperfections that we revel in and imperfections that we hate, hide, and refuse to admit.  Whether we shun others who harbor imperfections we loathe or approve of the imperfections of others, we often decide to overlook our own imperfections or think too greatly of them.

My weaknesses are covered by another’s strengths; but only if I let them.

We clamor for society to accept us as we are, warts and all.  We strive to make ourselves perfect.  We are willing to shape this world with our imperfections.  We are, however, unwilling to allow an outside force to shape us into perfect beings.

There is, of course, something inherently intimidating by allowing another to see our imperfections and flaws.  There are may ways to hide imperfections; but our imperfections are what make us unique.

Some, however, are harmful to us.  If we cannot see beyond our imperfect nature and discern what is harming us, we need others to intervene.  But, that is easier said than done.  It is easier to say, “You need help.” instead of, “I need help.”.  It is easier to say, “Let me help you.” instead of, “Will you help me?”.

The world is full of those who will say this is bad or that is bad.  Fewer say this is good or that is good.  We live in a society where no is more prevalent than yes.

Instead, we should strive to break from the norm.  We should seek out the reason behind the no, the bad, and the wrong and discern its underlying cause.  If we discover the imperfect nature within ourselves that causes a failing we dislike, perhaps we might be able to improve it…with help.

Or we can stay stagnant as a culture, as people, as individuals.  We can remain right where we are, hating each other and ourselves.  If we let love in, if we let others cover our weaknesses with their strengths, and if we strive toward perfection, there will be no room for hate.

At least, that’s the hope.  But, again, it’s easier said than done.  I am more comfortable where I am, un-moving, than I am shifting my weight to move.  It all comes back to Newton’s First Law of Motion.  I need something to move me.  Without the decision to move, the help of someone to move, desire to move, or some force uprooting me, I remain.

Who knows where I’ll move.  That’s the scary part.  I could move for a moment and stop or return to my old spot.  I could settle in a worse spot.  There’s always the hope, though, that I’ll settle in a better spot or just keep moving.

But first, I must take that initial motion.  The first step is always the hardest.  But, perhaps most especially, when striving toward perfection.

