Tags

, , , ,

I’m grateful that there’s a God who knows and loves me just the way I am.  He made me and knows how stubborn and shy I can be.  Like a mule mixed with a rabbit.

I’m not very good at doing things on my own.  That’s why, when I was 10, he had my neighbor invite me to attend summer camp with him.  We did all the traditional summer camp things: blobs, swimming, horseback riding, getting homesick…at least I did.  We also learned about Jesus.

Little did I know then, the impact it would have on my life.

I spent six summers going to that camp as a kid and six more working there as a young adult.  I went from learning about Jesus to teaching others about Him.

Freshman year in college, I sought a group to learn similar things; you know, Godly things.  But there were so many.  I didn’t know where to start.  So, I just sat in my room.  Until one day, someone came knocking on my door.  He invited me to attend Campus Crusade.

Over the course of the four years, I studied the Bible with this same man and even led a Bible study alongside him before he graduated.

I never considered speaking in front of a group until someone asked if I wanted to do it for our weekly meeting for Campus Crusade.  In fact, I had rarely thought about it…mostly with trepidation.  Still, I did it.

Years later, my brother asked me to join a Bible study he wanted to be involved in with some of his church friends.  I shrugged my shoulders and went.

The other day, as I drove home from the visitation for a childhood friend, I heard Brandon Heath’s Jesus in Disguise on the radio.  We can all be Jesus to someone, even if they don’t know it and especially if we don’t know it.  Small acts can have great consequences.

Sometimes, all we need to do is ask.

