Tags

, , , , , ,

The world is disordered.  There’s no question about that.  We care more for our accumulation of stuff than anything else.  Stuff, however, can come in all shapes, sizes, and varieties.

The world is disordered when we are pro-life and rally against abortion but not against the death penalty.

When we are pro-choice but don’t consider the fetus’ right to choose (or the parents’ right to abstain).

The world is disordered in its thinking on sexuality.  We’ve all, presumably, heard the ad motto, sex sells.  Well it does, obviously.  We only need to look at movies to see it.  Nearly every actor is buff and hairless and nearly every actress slim and voluptuous.  The internet is full of “content” to distract us from the realities of relationships and the value of a person for who they are not just how they look or what they will allow us to do to them.

Our world values stuff over people.  Now, I’m not saying all this to condemn, that would go against the teachings of the New Testament.  Nor am I all-knowing, so I don’t have a clue how the next few minutes will turn out let alone today, tomorrow, or next week.  I can only attempt to be the best person I can be.

And, the only way I know how to do that is, admittedly difficult: To love my neighbor as myself.  You have just as much right to be as I do.  As much right to fight for the things you hold dear and to do as you please.  However, just because I may seem meek in allowing you your tirade doesn’t mean I am not hurt.

I cannot comprehend the will of God.  I can only strive to better understand it and show more compassion in the world.  Grace was given to me, it only holds that I should return the favor to you.  And you.  And that guy over there.  Even that other lady.

The world needs more love and it starts in one heart.  The seed must grow in good soil before it can sprout.  Yet, we can nurture the seed in others as often as needed.  Never stop sowing, you never know when the seed you throw will land on fertile ground.

