Tags

,

Maybe I’m just a quitter for attempting to accept the world as it is.  Is it perfect?  Of course not.  Can I change it?  Who knows.

All I can do is follow the words of Mahatma Gandhi and “be the change I want to see in the world”.

As I said previously, change begins from within.  But there’s more to it than just striving for sainthood in my own life.  That’s a path I’m certain to fail on my own.

All I need, however, is God.  In prayer, I come to Him and seek grace, strength, and wisdom.  He gives when we ask (Matt 7:7).

The world wants us to believe that everything is permissible.  It wants us to accept everything and everyone.  We have men dressing as women, children classified as women at birth identifying as men, the 1% makes more than the 99%, some Christians are identified as a hate group, and countless other issues that confuse us.  Yes, the world is a confusing place.  Yes, life isn’t easy.

There are those who want to raise minimum wage so that everyone can afford living expenses from the lowest person on the totem pole to the highest.  I’m not an economist, so I can only guess at how that will affect the cost of living.  Should we condemn them as lazy for staying in a low wage job but striking to increase their wage?  Is there perhaps a root cause that we’re failing to address?  Would a raise in the minimum wage will only act as a stopgap instead of a solution?

If we want people to know the unconditional love of Jesus Christ, we must first allow ourselves to experience it.  Completely.  Fully.  Without reservation.

How will that change your life?

I know God loves me.  No matter how far I run from Him, He will take me back with open arms.  He continually whispers for me to return, even when I blare my music so loud that I drown out His words.  He will never stop fighting for me.

Or for you.

He died once for all our sins.  Yet we continually nail Him to that tree.  I refuse to accept forgiveness because I doubt I’m worthy of it.  If I was worthy of it, it wouldn’t be freely given, unconditional love.  It wouldn’t be revolutionary.

We strive so hard to proclaim the letter of the law and dismiss everyone who acts outside it as “sinners” that we fail to realize that we, that I, have become like the pharisees who condemned Jesus.

The Church, as an institution that symbolizes God on Earth, cannot accept anything disordered or secular into it.  We can still follow its teachings.  We need not “throw the baby out with the bath water”.

However, having received love, we must also show love.  Hate the sin but love the sinner, since someone far greater than you has done the same for you.

