Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So, the other day as I scrolled my Facebook news feed, I came across something odd.

Not particularly shocking, to me, just odd.  After all, I can easily think of one argument against the last two: I prefer not to kill babies.  (We’ll steer clear of the first one, today.)  Honestly, as long as stem cell research isn’t harvested by killing people, I’m okay with it.  It has a track record of discovering more about the human body and leading to advances in medicine; however, I can’t condone murder.

You can argue, that’s your right.  This is, after all, my opinion.

I just find it confusing.  When does a person become a person?  Is it the moment we exit the womb and take our first breath?  Is that when the soul enters the body?  What makes a person a person?  Where does one person’s rights begin and another’s end.  Who exactly is allowed to infringe upon someone else’s rights?

Much of the time, I think that a lot of “what’s wrong in this country” (and I do love America) is the lack of responsibility.  We all want something, but we aren’t concerned with how we get it.  We want pleasure, to be free of debt, to ____.  Yet, how do we do that?  Do we tax the rich so the poor can get a leg up?  Do we kill a child because it isn’t wanted?  Is the freedom to do whatever we want, however we want, whenever we want the true definition of freedom?  Even if we are truly free, can we ever make a decision without consequences?

Some might say that a fetus is just a parasite until it’s born.  A fair assessment, except that it’s not harmful to the mother (rare cases excluded).  It’s not a tapeworm or a leech.  It is a tiny human being that feels pain, emotion, and (after a certain point) looks human.  Yet, we consider them somehow less.  Like criminals or those who don’t look like us, act like us, talk like us, think like us.  They are other.

That’s not a religious reason, that’s a moral reason.  Yes, the Bible mentions morals, but so does the Code of Hammurabi.  Our morality doesn’t necessarily come from religion, it comes from a shared sense of decency.  A person who believe in God or practice organized religion isn’t automatically a serial killer or a terrible person.  They just have a different outlook on life.

But, I would argue, they aren’t truly without faith.  They put their faith in the things they can see, in the things they can learn and know.  Science.  Though, for many of us, a lot of science is taken on faith.  For instance, I’ve never seen a Higgs boson particle.  I’ve also never seen a million dollars.

What if the atheists are right?  What if there is no life after death?  If all we have is this one life, this one chance to leave a lasting impression, what would you want your legacy to be?  How do you want to be remembered?

