Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Today, I’ll take a look at the easiest aspect of love for us to see reflected in God but the hardest for us to comprehend on a personal level. We just have so little actual experience with it.

Agape

Unconditional love. I always am reminded of a song whenever I see the words “unconditional perfect love” strung together. It’s rare to find such love in our world. Obviously, that’s partly because this world is so broken. It’s also because we are selfish. But, mostly, I think it’s because it’s an aspect reserved for our Father (but that’s just my opinion, I could be wrong).

A good definition is found in John 15:13. “No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” Of course, many soldiers do this.

That, however, isn’t the whole truth of agape.

It is also laying down one’s life for one’s enemies. That’s what Jesus did on the cross (Romans 5:8). Sin is our rebellion against God. Our rejection of Him and His love. Our rejection of a relationship with Him.

Yet, He still loves us enough to die for us. No matter how often we falter, how far we fall, or how long we remain apart from Him.

That’s what makes agape so incomprehensible. When someone rejects me, I write them off. I cut them out of my life. I just let them fade away. Not out of spite (necessarily). That’s just how things happen. If you don’t want to be a part of my life, I won’t put forth the effort to continue trying to keep you in it.

Because, as we all know, relationships are hard. They take time. Most of us focus only on the people who are nearest and dearest to us.

But not God.

He wants you. He yearns for you. He calls to you. He needs you.

